Saturday Market (well its open all week)

Posted: March 8, 2012 in Life, Travel, Volunteering

  After settling in a bit in my new home in Chipata, the next day (Sunday Feb 19, 2012) my new neighbors (VSO volunteers) started their days by planning what they will be cooking for dinner, as they are having a small dinner party to meet the other volunteers.  So we picked some vegetables and fruits from the garden (egg plants, avocado, guava, spinach and green papaya) and then headed out to the “Saturday Market” (yes it’s open every day but it’s just called that) to buy other vegetables to prepare dinner, we were having a vegetarian dinner since some of the volunteers where vegetarian.  We bought some potatoes, tomatoes, squash, Chinese lettuce and pees.  I helped out in the cutting of the vegetables, they did the rest :), I am not used to picking, buying and preparing dinner like this.  In Canada I mostly buy prepared stuff or just get something to put in the oven or the microwave and done.  So it was nice to actually prepare (or help out in preparing) a meal from scratch.  They made some squash curry, rice, spinach, green papaya salad, potatoes, pees, eggplant dip.  It was all very good and filling.  I meet a few other volunteers that have been in Zambia now for 4 months – 2 years, everyone was very friendly and helpful, they enjoy having these dinner parties often as that is the main social life here in Chipata.  I thought I would be losing weight while I am out here, but it looks like there is going to be a lot of good food being cooked often.  Here are some pics of the food being prepared and pics of the Saturday market, I’ll post pics of the prepared food another time when I get them from the volunteers:

Leave a comment